Meet Willie

20150828_213030

This is Willie, a cheerful man who is currently living under the Burrard bridge. I was fortunate enough to have him tell me his story while passing out triple-berry jammy sandwiches this past weekend. Willie was polite and patient with me when I asked him questions about his life story, and gave me his enthusiastic consent when I asked for his permission to share it.

Willie travelled from New Brunswick to provinces all around Canada, including Saskatchewan, Ontario, Alberta, and British Columbia. He was back and forth between provinces to find work, but, unfortunately, to no avail. He held random jobs here and there as a dishwasher, but wanted to find things related to construction as he likes hands-on labour. Despite meeting tough conditions in life, Willie has remained positive and cheerful, which is exemplified in the message from John Lennonโ€™s song that he would like to pass on to the people in Vancouver: โ€œGive Peace a Chanceโ€ ๐Ÿ™‚

While I was listening to Willieโ€™s story, I was touched to find that a young man came up to him to give him an entire new souvlaki plate as well as a middle-aged Christian, Eddie, who offered to buy him food at McDonaldโ€™s and who was also kind enough to check on me. I was glad to have talked to Willie and gotten to know his story, which made me appreciate the kindness in people all the more.

Update (09/02/2015): I forgot to mention that I have seen Willie downtown a few times now, and every time when I go up and offer him a sandwich, he would always happily ask if it was a PB&J sandwich. It was actually very cute. Unfortunately I did not have peanut butter last week, but I do this week and I will make one especially for him when I go out again this weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

26 thoughts on “Meet Willie

  1. I am trying to do something about the homeless, here in my home town of Southampton, England. Your blog has helped me realise that I am not going against the tide.
    This is a world-wide problem and we need to rethink how to deal with it.
    Thanks for being here.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for stopping by and, most importantly, for taking action! It may seem overwhelming, but I truly believe that if each of us does something, we can effect significant changes ๐Ÿ™‚ Good luck to your efforts too and please do let me know your course of action ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It just takes one brave person to start something and small miracles can happen. Bless you for starting this ‘something’ and I hope support comes for you and the guys you are trying to help. Take care of yourself ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s fabulous! Some of our food supermarkets give ‘expired’ food to local charities at the end of each day so it can be distributed to the homeless that night. Like your grocery market, the food only gets thrown away once it’s past it’s best so why not put it to good use. I hope word gets round and more take part to help you.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

