Being kind even when you’re hurt

I had been thinking about what happened the previous weekend with my partner warning me about people taking advantage of the services. Personally, I experienced recently a trauma where someone I hold dear hurting me repeatedly. I became angry and, in a rare moment, reacted fiercely. I was proud of myself for asserting my feelings, but I was not proud of how I expressed it, even though the person’s behaviors were very reprehensible. I was not trying to hurt him, but I may have done so because I was hurt myself. I wanted to end the cycle and remembered Peter Chapter 3, Verse 9: “Do not repay evil with evil or insult with insult. On the contrary, repay evil with ‪#‎blessing‬, because to this you were called so that you may inherit a blessing.”

So, that’s what I did. I went out of my way to do something nice for him by recommending him to some clients. I wrote out his qualities and blessed him for them. It helped to appease my anger and to regain my peace. I don’t know if he would ever know what I’ve done for him or even if he does know he would continue his behavior or change it, but at least I know I did right by him even when he did not by me.

‪#‎kindness‬ ‪#‎repayingcrueltywithkindness‬ ‪#‎lifelesson‬ ‪#‎humility‬ ‪#‎personaltrauma

Leave a Reply

