Of Rain and Wind

The recent political atmosphere seems to play more part in dampening everyone’s mood than the relentless rain. Yet, in the midst of the downpour of water and wind await those who are truly affected by life’s fortunes. They do not have a place to call home and instead make their abodes out of plastic wraps, cardboard, and makeshift tents. They care not for the weather – political or natural – only that they have shelter, warmth, and food for that night. On Smithe street, I passed a box of lemon tart to one such man trying to panhandle in the storm. So heavy was the downpour that he could not lift his plastic cover high enough to see who I was, but nevertheless tried his hardest to tell me how much he appreciated it. I’ve also been finding many new faces sleeping near Robson. Their mud-stained clothes and dirty hands tell of how much they have weathered through over the last few weeks or months. I left them baked goods near their bedding and was careful to not wake them in the process, but some were quick to notice the slightest disturbance – a habit formed, I presume, in response to the rising midnight robberies. Most smiled and/or thanked me upon seeing what I was doing. It was both sad and heartwarming.

The recent political atmosphere seems to play more part in dampening everyone’s mood than the relentless rain. Yet, in the midst of the downpour of water and wind await those who are truly affected by life’s fortunes. They do not have a place to call home and instead make their abodes out of plastic wraps, cardboards, and makeshift tents. They care not for the weather – political or natural – only that they have shelter, warmth, and food for that night. On Smithe street, I passed a box of lemon tart to one such man trying to panhandle in the storm. So heavy was the downpour that he could not lift his plastic cover high enough to see who I was, but nevertheless tried his hardest to tell me how much he appreciated it. I’ve also been finding many new faces sleeping near Robson. Their mud-stained clothes and dirty hands tell of how much they have weathered through over the last few weeks or months. I left them baked goods near their bedding and was careful to not wake them in the process, but some were quick to notice the slightest disturbance – a habit formed, I presume, in response to the rising midnight robberies. Most smiled and/or thanked me upon seeing what I was doing. It was both sad and heartwarming.

Although I may not be able to effect changes on a societal level, whenever I went out in the past few weeks, I’d like to think that I was able to reach people on an individual level. A man saw me doing so last Saturday, and stopped to say an encouraging word to me before we smile each other off. Perhaps the more intellectual and politically-enthused would think me naïve and ignorant for not paying more attention to the international news, but I’d rather care about these exchanges and how they impacts people on an intimate level more than who is sitting on the world’s throne right now.

#vancouver #homelessness #vancouverhomeless #rain #politics #volunteerism #communityhelping

Leave a Reply

